Board & Committees

Governing Board

The HRTPO is managed by a governing board of elected officials who are ultimately responsible for implementing the transportation planning process in DeSoto, Glades, Hardee, Hendry, Highlands and Okeechobee Counties. Representation is based on the population of each county. All meetings are conducted in an open public forum with an opportunity for public comment.

The HRTPO Board is a legislative body with the power to:

  • Develop and adopt plans
  • Recommend priorities for improvements to the transportation systems in the six-county region
  • Program and administer federal and state planning grants


The Board receives recommendations from several advisory committees as it approves plans. These committees ensure the Board considers many points of view during the transportation planning process. These committees include:

Technical Advisory Committee

The Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) is made up of technically qualified representatives of cities, counties, and agencies responsible for planning, maintaining, controlling, developing and improving the transportation system within the Heartland region.

Citizens Advisory Committee

The Citizens Advisory Committee (CAC) is made up of citizen representatives appointed by the HRTPO Board. This committee ensures the public has the opportunity to review and evaluate all proposed transportation plans and programs. This committee provides their opinions, concerns, and recommendations to the HRTPO Board on behalf of their communities. Visit the Public Participation Plan to learn more about our outreach efforts.

Mobility Advisory Committee

The Mobility Advisory Committee (MAC) may serve as the committee developing and guiding multimodal input including bicycle, pedestrian, trails, transit and other mobility modes as needed.

Transportation Disadvantaged Local Coordinating Boards

The HRTPO Board also will coordinate with the three local Transportation Disadvantaged Local Coordinating Boards (LCB) that focus on the transportation needs of the disadvantaged in our community, including individuals with physical and economic challenges and senior citizens facing mobility challenges.

Staff Contact

For more information about the Board, contact Marybeth Soderstrom.