About the HRTPO

The Heartland Regional Transportation Planning Organization (HRTPO) coordinates transportation plans for the Heartland region including the six counties of DeSoto, Glades, Hardee, Hendry, Highlands and Okeechobee and the urbanized area of Highlands County including the cities of Sebring and Avon Park. Our organization provides the forum for local elected officials, their staff, and industry experts, and the public to work together to improve transportation in the Heartland Region.

Created by federal law and Florida Statutes, transportation organizations like the HRTPO exist to provide regional coordination of transportation investments, while ensuring that the public, especially those traditionally underserved by the transportation system, have opportunities to participate in the decision-making process.

This agency consists of:

  • A Governing Board made up of elected officials from the six counties and the cities of Sebring and Avon Park.
  • A Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) is made up of technically qualified representatives of agencies responsible for planning, maintaining, controlling, developing and improving the transportation system within the Heartland region.
  • A Citizens Advisory Committee (CAC) made up of citizen representatives appointed by the HRTPO Board.
  • A Mobility Advisory Committee (MAC) who also may serve as the committee developing and guiding multimodal input including bicycle, pedestrian, trails, transit and other mobility modes.